Useful phrases for waiters : From arrival of the customer to ordering the meal (1 of 2)

I have been to Italy several times and the level of English among waiters and waitresses is good.  In fact, many of them won’t let me practise speaking Italian!  However, restaurant staff could provide an even better service to English-speaking customers if they learnt some natural expressions which we English-speakers use and hear when going to restaurants in our own countries.

Despite my main careers as lawyer and teacher, I also worked in the very different environment of an English hotel for 1 year.  In this first article in a series, I will give you a “flavour” of the kind of language that could help your restaurant look more professional to tourists.  Enjoy!

C = Customer                     W = Waiter

W:          Welcome!

C:           We’d like a table for 2,3,4 please.

W:          Certainly, please come this way / I’ll take you to your table.

W:          We’re a little busy at the moment.  A table will be free in about 15 minutes – would you mind waiting?

C:           Can we sit anywhere?

W:          Of course, please choose any table.

C:           Can we have a table a) in the corner / b) away from the door / c) away from the kitchen?

W:          Of course – I suggest this table here / that table there.

W:          We’re very busy at the moment and the only available table is this one / the one over there.  Would that be OK  with you?

W:          Can I take your coats?

C:           Can we smoke?

W:          Unfortunately, it’s illegal to smoke in restaurants now, but you are welcome to smoke outside.

W:          Of course. There is a smoking area at the back / in the corner / over there.  Shall I take you there?

W:          Here are some menus.  You’ll see that today’s specials are [list the special dishes of the day].

W:          Unfortunately there is no [beef / fish etc] left. It’s very popular at the moment.

C:          Where are the toilets / gents / ladies / loos? (UK)

C:          Where is the bathroom? (US)

W:         It’s / they’re at the back / on the right / down that corridor / over there.

W:         What would you like to drink?

C:          I’ll have a [coke / glass of wine / sparkling water/ still water etc].  My wife / husband / friend will have a [beer etc]

C:          What wines / beers do you have?

W:         We have [list them] Here is our wine list.

W:         Can I take your order, sir / madam (formal)?

W:         What are you guys having (informal)?

C:          For starters / for the main course / for mains, I’d like / I’ll have [customer chooses from menu]

W:         Does anyone have any food allergies?

C:          I can’t take / have gluten / Do you have anything which is gluten-free?

C:          I am celiac.

C:          I am a vegetarian.

C:          I don’t eat red meat.

C:          I am intolerant to nuts / lactose.

W:         If you can’t eat [name the food], you should not have these items on the menu [point to the menu]

W:         I can check with the chef.  I’ll be right back.

C:          Does that come with vegetables / salad?

W:         Yes, they’re / it’s included in the dish.

W:         No, you have to order vegetables / salad separately.

W:         How do you like your steak?

C:          Rare / medium-rare / medium / well-done

Phrase of the week

Would you mind + -ing?

It is always polite to use this phrase.  It is useful for polite requests.

Here are some examples:

– Would you mind waiting 10 minutes for a table to come free?

– Would you mind having the trout instead of the salmon?

– Would you mind moving to another table?

Next week….

I will continue the series with phrases you may hear and need to say between the time when the customer has ordered their food and when they say goodbye and leave.

 

About me

I teach English to many Italian people online.  I previously worked as a lawyer in England for 12 years and in a hotel for 1 year.

I can help you and your staff to speak better English and say phrases which sound natural to Americans, British people and all native English speakers.

I can also help you to produce correspondence, website content and other professional and academic documents in English. Please feel free to get in touch with me for a chat.

Michael Chambers

Chambers English : The Language of Professional Success!

http://www.chambersenglish.com

Skype : mfjachambers